Halloween at the Library is not even spooky

October 31, 2007

It’s Halloween, and much to my surprise, the Northernmost Library decided to let the staff wear costumes to work. Having just been to a great Halloween birthday party earlier in the week, I thought, “Awesome. I already have a costume. This will be fun.”

Not so much. I mean, I love my costume, and there are other people dressed up. But no one in my department. The worst thing is that no one really said anything when I came in. Their looks said, “Oh, so you’re dressed up like all those other people downstairs.” They said aloud, “Hello.” They looked uncomfortable, and that made me uncomfortable.

What’s weirder is that the patrons who’ve come up to the desk so far are also just pretending I’m not in costume. No “I like your costume?” or “Happy Halloween!” or anything. Just, “Where’s the Physician’s Desk Reference?” or “How do I log into a computer?”

I don’t know, I just want a moment of human connection. It’s Halloween! Be silly! Embrace the silliness of others!

So I guess I’m just going to make myself some coffee, and try and spend as much time as I can hiding behind my monitor, working on the electronic resources page, and daydreaming about being home.

Leave a Reply

