Almanac of Almanacs

January 28, 2008

I’ve spent the morning opening a considerable pile of mail from vendors who want to sell me expensive reference books. I don’t want your $800 Encyclopedia of Religious Movements! Nor do I want your $300 almanac of government information which you and I both know is provided for free online. What I want is for someone to publish some up-to-date readers’ advisory books about romance, horror, and mystery/thrillers. I’d totally spend $300 on those, even though I know they pretty much become outdated as soon as they’re in my hands. They’re still useful resources.

And then I won’t feel so bad about withdrawing the ones we have from 1990.

Leave a Reply

